10 to Watch

Posted: June 9, 2010 in World Cup
Tags: , , ,

And I don’t mean “10 players that should make this World Cup awesome” (that would be Messi, Ronaldo, Kaka, Rooney, Torres, Villa, Iniesta, Schweinsteiger, Drogba, and maybe Lucio because I love him).

I absorb football like a sponge, I can’t stop reading about it and watching it, even when it drives me nuts at some of the coverage it gets. Yet no matter how much you play Football Manager, watch Sky Sports News, the Premier League and La Liga, listen to Five Live, and browse FourFourTwo magazine every now and again, there are players you hear about but you just don’t know how good they are.

So, for all that I would like to think I’m a fairly “well read” sort of guy when it comes to football, there are certain players playing in this tournament who I’ve heard are good – but I’ve really got no idea. Or alternatively, players I used to know were good/shit, but I now hear otherwise. Here’s my top 10 that I’ll be having a good look at:

Luis Fabiano (Brazil). This guy scored a fuckload for Brazil in qualifying, but I don’t really have any idea who he is. I think he played in that so-called “match” against England in Qatar last year, but Darren Fucking Bent played in that so you can probably imagine how much attention I gave it. I think I was probably watching Autumn Watch on BBC2 instead. He is apparently big, fast and powerful, and plays for Sevilla. But seeing as Sky’s La Liga matches are Barcelona vs Whoever and Real Madrid vs Whoever, I haven’t really seen him.

Theofanis Gekas (Greece). He was the top scorer in qualifying out of all the European teams, don’t yew know. More than Rooney, Torres, Villa, Ronaldo, Henry, et al. He’s about 28 and has a fair bit of hair. That’s pretty much all I know.

John Dahl Tomasson (Denmark). Yeah that’s right, the guy who was shit for Newcastle. Whenever I think of him I think of Tomas Brolin which is perhaps a little harsh, but he really was rubbish. Yet he’s continued to be Denmark’s star, by all accounts. Even if he did fuck this chance up spectacularly for his club. Wow.

Luis Suarez (Uruguay). I think he plays for Ajax. He’s supposed to be as hot as Forlan, and I don’t mean hot in a weird Sally Gunnel kind of way.

Juan Sebastian Veron (Argentina). Seba was awesome in Italy. Then he signed for Man Utd for a hell of a lot, and was fairly rubbish. Then he signed for Chelsea for slightly less, and was only slightly less rubbish. He’s now playing in Argentina and is, I believe, 35. Yet he was a key part of Argentina’s midfield in 1998 (when they beat England) and is apparently still a key part of the Argie side in 2010 (when they won’t get the opportunity to beat England). Is he still fairly rubbish?

David Silva (Spain). I really know nothing about this guy, apart from my brother hates him on FIFA 10 and he seems to be always in the Spain side on the wing. Picking him means that one of Fabregas, Iniesta, Alonso and Xavi can’t play, so he must be pretty handy to say the least.

Hugo Lloris (France). ITV went absolutely nuts over this bloke during the Champions League. This was after all the English clubs had got knocked out so they had nothing else to talk about. They showed a compilation of all the amazing saves he’d made. Big whoop. I made some right saves in the day, you could make me look like Gordon Banks if you had enough time.

Marek Hamsik (Slovakia). This guy has really, really stupid hair. Like he’s trapped in the punk era, but not in a good way. He’s supposed to be a decent midfielder.

Humberto Suazo (Chile). He scored more goals than Luis Fabiano on his way to putting Chile into the finals out of a tough qualifying group. Other than, I dunno.

Sami Khedira (Germany). I’d never heard of him before today, then I read an article on how he’s a gifted young midfielder. With Ballack out and most of Germany’s forwards AWOL, he could be worth having a look at.

Theo Walcott (England).

Comments
  1. […] of my closing articles on this blog, I’d like to take a look back at the players I picked as 10 to watch waaaay back on June 9. This was not a normal “10 best players” or “10 players set […]

Leave a Reply

